Delhi : PM Modi Cabinet Expansion: Scindia, Sonowal & Rane Among First to Take Oath

PM Narendra Modi’s first Cabinet reshuffle since his re-election will be announced at 6 pm on Wednesday, 7 July.


The swearing-in for the new ministers being inducted into Prime Minster Narendra Modi’s Cabinet began on Wednesday evening, with Narayan Tatu Rane, Sarbananda Sonowal, and Dr Virendra Kumar being among the first to take oath.

Ahead of the much-awaited reshuffle, Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan and Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ had resigned, the latter due to health reasons. Union Ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar have also resigned.

Others who have resigned include Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar, Chemicals and Fertilisers Minister DV Sadananda Gowda, as well as Minister of State for Education Sanjay Dhotre.

1.The Cabinet currently has 53 members, but can have up to 81

2.The reshuffle will create the youngest Cabinet in India’s history, reported NDTV quoting government sources

3.The reshuffle is expected to have more women ministers, while those with administrative experience will reportedly be given special representation

4.Ahead of the Cabinet reshuffle, the government on Tuesday created a new Ministry of Cooperation


Abdul Bari Khan , Bureau Chief Mumbai





देश विदेश